Why do turtles come out of water?

Though turtles can breathe underwater, the amount of oxygen is not enough for these pets. So, they have to come to the surface to replenish their lungs with oxygen. Another reason, the turtles have to come out of the water is basking. Every turtle has to bask to maintain a healthy life.