What is a gin and tonic?

A Gin and Tonic is a highball cocktail. It uses one to three parts gin (to taste), and three parts tonic water. The combination is served over ice and is typically garnished with a lime or lemon wedge. The drink is light and refreshing, and the citrus element makes it perfect for hot weather.