How long does it take to cook collards?

A couple of hours, usually. To taste best, they have to stew slowly in broth and a piece of salt pork such as a ham hock; that will make them as tender as possible. If you use an instant pot or pressure cooker you can make a pot of collards in about 20 minutes.