What does zest a lemon mean?

Pieces or strips of the lemon rind or skin.

---

To zest a lemon means to collect the thin yellow layer of the peel by scraping it off with a tool called a zester, which is similar to a cheese grater but with much finer holes.

---

Lemon zest comes from collecting the thin yellow layer of the lemon peel by scraping it off with a tool called a zester, which is similar to a cheese grater but with much finer holes.