What should the refrigerator be set at?

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) says the recommended refrigerator temperature is below 40°F; the ideal freezer temp is below 0°F. However, the ideal refrigerator temperature is actually lower: Aim to stay between 35° and 38°F.