How long can 4 million dollars last?

Americans can be expected to make roughly half that, or 1.7 million dollars, over their lifetimes, so with frugal living, it can last the rest of your life. Or, it can be blown in a single transaction on a luxury item like a car, a yacht, or a mansion.