How do you get a turtle shell in minecraft?

To make a turtle shell, place 5 scutes in the 3x3 crafting grid. When making a turtle shell, it is important that the scutes are placed in the exact pattern. There should be 3 scutes in the first row and 2 scutes in the second row at either sides (the middle box should be left empty).