What does crushed garlic mean?

Crushed garlic is just a few steps away—none of them requiring a garlic press. ... A "smashed" clove of garlic just means putting a clove (peeled or unpeeled) under your chef's knife, and hitting the flat of the blade firmly with the heel of your hand to smash the garlic underneath.