Can you store apples and oranges together?

Ethylene gas is the reason apples and oranges are not able to successfully coexist. It’s those gases that are causing your fruits to deteriorate at a much higher speed. So, store your apples away from your oranges — whether they are in the refrigerator or in a fruit bowl.