Where did the word mermaid come from?

The word mermaid dates to the mid-14th century word ‘mermayde’ which literally meant ‘maid of the sea’. The word is formed from the Middle English words ‘mere’ meaning ‘a sea or lake’ and the 12th century word ‘maid’.