What's the movie stakeout about?

Stakeout is a 1987 American buddy cop action comedy film starring Richard Dreyfuss, Emilio Estevez, Madeleine Stowe and Aidan Quinn. Detectives Lecce and Reimers are assigned to a stakeout of waitress Maria. Her former boyfriend has escaped from prison and the FBI thinks he is headed her way.