How did the treaty punish germany?

The document stripped Germany of 13 percent of its territory and one tenth of its population. The Rhineland was occupied and demilitarized, and German colonies were taken over by the new League of Nations. The German army was diminished to 100,000 men and the country was forbidden to draft soldiers.