What is a shih?

A shih was associated with a specific poetic genre in the Middle Ages. The classical shih consists of five or seven monosyllabic words with a strictly prescribed pattern of musical tones of different pitch, as well as a complex melodic pattern. The rhyme is parallel and consistent throughout.