How do i make half a cup of buttermilk?

You can create a buttermilk substitute with whole milk and either lemon juice or vinegar. The ratio is 4 tablespoons of acid to 1 cup of milk. Stir and let it sit for 10 to 15 minutes so it has time to curdle.