Why do our eyes get bloodshot?

Red eyes happen when the tiny blood vessels on the surface of the whites of your eyes expand, turning the whites of one or both eyes a pink or reddish tint. Eye redness causes can include rubbing eyes, sleep deprivation, chlorine (from pools), or smoke exposure.