Is canadian bacon from canada?

"Canadian bacon" is the American name for back bacon that is trimmed into cylindrical medallions, and thickly sliced. The term is not actually used in Canada, where the product is generally known simply as "back bacon" while "bacon" alone refers to the common pork belly bacon slices.