What is a perforated bowel?

A perforated bowel happens when a medical condition, such as diverticulitis, causes a hole or tear in your bowel. An injury or blockage may also perforate your bowel. Bowel contents can leak into your abdomen through the hole. This may cause a life-threatening infection.