Who did hawaii belong to before the united states?

From 1778 the British, however, The Territory of Hawaii or Hawaii Territory was an organized incorporated territory of the United States that existed from April 30, 1900 until August 21, 1959, when most of its territory, was admitted to the Union as the fiftieth U.S. state, the State of Hawaii.