What are in cigarettes?

According to the American Lung Association, there are about 600 ingredients in the typical cigarette. Some of these include tobacco, tar, added nicotine, and other chemicals, including acetone and cadmium, among many others.

---

Cigarette ingredients include nicotine, tar, carbon monoxide, formaldehyde (a colorless pungent gas in solution made by oxidizing methanol), ammonia, hydrogen cyanide, arsenic, and DDT (a synthetic organic compound that's been banned for use as an insecticide in the U.S. for health reasons).