Where does baby yoda come from?

George Lucas is quoted as saying this about Yoda characters: "I never really figured out where he came from. What his species is called, it doesn't even have a name. Maybe it's somewhere, but I don't know what it is. So he's a mystery character; he's a magical character. He has no background. "