What happened to the spaceship challenger?

The space shuttle Challenger was destroyed on 28 Jan 19 86 in the explosion that occurred shortly after lift off when a leak from the solid rocket booster burned a hole in the external propellent tank. The remnants landed in the Atlantic Ocean and were largely recovered.