What is a slab basement?

A slab basement is the simplest building foundation. In essence, it is a slab of concrete placed directly onto the ground. It also acts as the floor of the basement. Around the outside of the slab, the concrete forms a 2- to 3-foot deep beam that supports the rest of the house being built above.