What is a gi in the military?

The term G.I. is a slang term that refers to anyone serving in the U.S. Armed Forces. It refers to the fact that from head-to-toe, they live, are dressed, fed, and equipped in 'Government Issued or G. I.' items. The name took root in the 1940's and was solidified by the WWII comic strip 'G.I. Joe'.