What is ethereal sclerosis?

Atherosclerosis is a disease in which the inside of an artery narrows due to the buildup of plaque. Initially, there are generally no symptoms. When severe, it can result in coronary artery disease, stroke, peripheral artery disease, or kidney problems, depending on which arteries are affected.