Who is considered the apostle of love?

He was first a disciple of John the Baptist. John is traditionally believed to be one of two disciples (the other being Andrew), as recounted in John 1: 35-39, hearing the Baptist point out Jesus as the "Lamb of God", followed Jesus and spent the day with him.