What's an explanation point?

What's an exclamation point? It is a symbol used at the end of a sentence, used to emphasize a declarative statement. It should be used minimally in narrative writing, as the reader tends to infer it was spoken loudly or with shouting. It is a line drawn directly over a separated dot.