What's a chiffonade of basil?

Chiffonade is a very pretty word for the very simple process of slicing basil or any other delicate herb into very thin ribbons. Chiffonade of basil is : To stack, roll and slice basil into very thin Ribbons with Sharp Knife.

---

A process of slicing basil or any other delicate herb into very thin ribbons by rolling the leaves tightly and using a sharp knife.