What is the only major u. s. city founded by a woman?

Miami, Florida was founded in 1874 by Julia Tuttle and is the only major US city founded by a woman.

---

Julia DeForest Tuttle was an American businesswoman who owned the property upon which Miami Florida was built. For this reason she is called the "Mother of Miami." She is the only woman to found a major US city.

---

City of Miami. Interestingly, the city of Miami was founded by a woman—the only female founder of a major American city. In 1874, Julia Tuttle, who hailed from Cleveland, headed to Florida to visit her father, who lived in the area. Despite the mosquito-infested swamps, she liked what she saw.