What is the difference between a novel and a book?

Book can refer to any set of blank pages that are bound together for someone to write in; for example, a notebook. Books can contain poetry, stories, recipes, etc.. A Novel is a subset of books that contain only stories, typically telling a complete story from beginning to end.