Why did kobe bryant change his number from eight twenty four?

Kobe decided he wanted a new number for the second half of his career. He chose number 24, as this is the number he had in high school.

---

Bryant said ""When I first came in at 8, is really trying to 'plant your flag' sort of thing. I got to prove that I belong here in this league. . . ... Then 24 is a growth from that. Physical attributes aren't there the way they used to be, but the maturity level is greater."