Tell me the story of mary poppins?

Mary Poppins is a fictional character created by Pamela Lyndon Travers, first appearing in book form in 1934. Mary Poppins is a governess who uses magic to teach and engage the children she cares for. There are movies, but the books have no many more details and twists. A perfect bedtime read.