Is first degree burns worse than third degree burns?

First-degree burns are considered mild compared to other burns. They result in pain and reddening of the epidermis (outer layer of the skin). Third-degree burns (full thickness burns) go through the dermis and affect deeper tissues. They result in white or blackened, charred skin that may be numb.