Why do ostriches bury their heads in the sand?

This popular myth is not true. Ostriches do dig holes in the dirt to use as nests for their eggs. An Ostrich will look into the hole they create to check on the eggs several times a day. So at this time it does look like they are burying their heads in the sand.

---

They never do. It's an urban legend.