How long can fried chicken sit out?

You can safely leave cooked chicken out at room temperature for two hours -- or one hour if the temperature is above 90 degrees Fahrenheit -- says the United States Department of Agriculture. Cooked chicken that has been sitting out for longer than 2 hours (or 1 hour above 90° F) should thrown out.