What does crusader mean?

A noun meaning either 1. a fighter in the medieval Crusades. "Between the Greeks and the crusaders, no sympathy could exist." Or 2. A person who campaigns vigorously for political, social, or religious change; a campaigner. "crusaders for early detection and treatment of mental illness"