How many you s. states have a town named athens?

10. Athens, Alabama, Athens, Georgia, Athens, Texas, Athens, Ohio, New Athens, Ohio, Athens, Illinois, New Athens, Illinois Athens, Maine, Athens, Indiana, Athens, New York, Athens, Pennsylvania, Athens, West Virginia, Athens, Wisconsin, Athens, Louisiana, and Athens, Michigan.