Where do the infinity gems come from?

The 1st appearance of the objects came with the hero Warlock, created to be the perfect evolved human, & given the gift of an object called The Soul Gem, planted in his forehead. It was later revealed to be one of a set of 6 Soul Gems, which gained the attention of Thanos, the immortal from Titan.