What is the first thunderstorm?

The first stage of a thunderstorm is the cumulus stage, where masses of moisture are lifted up into the atmosphere. In the mature stage, the warmed air continues to rise until it reaches warmer air. Internal turbulence can occur, manifesting as strong winds, severe lightning, and even tornadoes