Why was nixon impeached?

On July 27, 29, and 30, 1974, the Committee approved three articles of impeachment against Nixon, for obstruction of justice, abuse of power, and contempt of Congress. With his political support completely eroded, Nixon resigned from office on August 9, 1974.

---

Nixon resigned because Congress had drawn up Articles of Impeachment, charging him with obstruction of justice, abuse of power and contempt of Congress. It was very likely that he was going to lose the vote in Congress and be officially impeached. He resigned on August 9, 1974.