When was cat food invented?

The inspiration came from James Pratt observing sailors throwing hardtack to dogs. Some sources talk of Ralston Purina being the first cat food company to exist – they emerged in 1894. In the 1900s, commercial cat food took off. Gaines Food introduced canned cat food.