Which branch punishes pirates?

Congress was given the power in the Roots of U. S. Piracy Law, Article 1, Section 8, clause 10 to "define and punish piracy and felonies on the high seas and offenses against the law of nations." With that power, in 1790, Congress enacted the first anti-piracy law.