When did elmo come out?

Elmo was a background character starting in the early '70s, but he never made a mark, and was kicked from puppeteer to puppeteer until 1984.

---

Elmo first appeared on Sesame Street in 1980

---

Elmo was originally designed in 1979 as a generic background monster for Sesame Street, and made his first named appearance as the Elmo character in 1980.