Who is captain gooding?

No one really knows who Captain Gooding was. The Continental Army consisted of over 14,000 officers. However, a peek at the war pension rolls reveals that there were men named Gooden, Godwin and Gooding, so 'Gooding' might be a general name for somebody who fought in the Continental Army.