How many years is ten in dog years?

The first year of life for a dog is in theory equal to a humans first 16 years. After that small breed dogs average life span is 8-20+years, and it is makes it approximately 4yrs per 1 human year. For larger breeds life span goes from 4-12 years, making it approximately 8yrs per 1 year human year.

---

It's a common myth that one "dog year" is equivalent to seven "human years," but the reality is more complicated. The relationship between dog years and human years is not a fixed ratio, and the rate of ageing can vary depending on the size and breed of the dog.