Where did goldfish come from?

Goldfish were originally kept for meat. Modern goldfish (Carassius auratus auratus) are a domesticated version of a wild carp from east Asia. Their wild ancestor was silver-grey. Known as "chi", it was at one time the most common fish eaten in China.