Is hickam a fruit or a vegetable?

Jicama, also called the Mexican yam or the Mexican turnip, is both an edible vine root and a delicious vegetable.

---

Jicama is a globe-shaped root vegetable with papery, golden-brown skin and a starchy white interior.

---

Did you mean jicama? Jicama is a root and is generally consumed as a vegetable. It has a high water content and is low in calories with only 25 calories per half cup serving.