Do praying mantises eat grass?

Praying mantids are carnivores, eating mainly insects, not grass. Many gardeners and farmers welcome mantids, because the insects they eat are often pests that hurt crops. In addition to insects such as crickets and grasshoppers, mantids eat spiders, frogs, lizards, and even small birds.

---

They are carnivores. They eat bugs--not vegetation. They eat a lot of the bad bugs in gardens.