When do pumpkins turn orange?

Warm, sunny days and cool nights with no freezing temperatures can accelerate color changes in both pumpkins and fall leaves. How much moisture is in the soil affects when pumpkins turn orange. If the summer has been a dry one, the color change may be delayed.