Why is a group of crows called a murder?

It takes at least 3 crows to make a "murder" (group of crows), based on old English folklore referring to the "Three ravens" folk tale, where three crows plot to devour the corpse of a dead knight. Then they are thwarted by the knight's hawk, hound and mistress.