Where did the term pipe down come from?

The origin of the expression 'pipe down' is nautical, used since the late 16th century. Whistled signals are given to crews via a boatswain's pipe, with one of those signals meaning “time to go below decks and retire for the evening,” or “be quiet as it's time for bed.”